Facetube.mu Review!
The local version of facebook is having quite a popularity growth in the recent days. Many users have registered on that website and it is so funny that all the people I came across hated the facetube.mu website to the roots. None of them did give it a positive reply.
I registered for an account on the facetube.mu website just to test certain things about data privacy and so on.
Coming to issues steps by steps:
Step 1: Opening the page
(I’m not even registered at this time)

At a first glance, the template sucks. Even the logo on the top seems to be incomplete. Scrolling down the page.

Where is data privacy? Every user who browse that page can not only see all the members of facetube.mu but also see all the users who uploaded new pictures! Continuing to scroll down..

This is pure privacy breach. I can see every single actions that the users did up to 2 weeks ago. I can see who changed pictures, who added which applications, who added who as a friend, who added a comment, who updated his status, ect. At least the administrators of that fail website could change the privacy settings to prevent any one from having such information.
It also gives you the COMPLETE list of all the latest members and of course, the complete list of all the members of that website.
Step 2: Registering on the website.
Creating an account.

Filled in the relevant details and clicking next.

Filled in all the relevant details. Note that it is a must to enter the state, city/town, country, website, college/university, graduation year, address, gender, birthday, about me, hometown, ect.
Next step: Click on Register.
It brings me to the home page, already registered.
Did you find anything missing? Where is the agreement form? Where is the disclaimer form? There are NONE. It means that tomorrow, whatever the administrators of that website do with your details on the website, you CAN’T technically claim damages from them. I thought that maybe, I will find an agreement or disclaimer somewhere on the home page. But I was wrong. There is nothing which inform us about how the Administrators intend to protect the data we entered on that website! It BASICALLY means that tomorrow they can do whatever with what you wrote or uploaded to the website and can even sell this information to any 3rd party.
Step 3: I have 0(zero) friends. But
can I view anyone’s profile and
photos?
The answer is Yes! Despite having no friends on the website, I can VIEW any pictures uploaded by ANY user!
Proof to show that I have no friends on facetube.mu:
![]()
I returned to the home page and clicked on one picture from the new pictures uploaded:
Clicking on any profile. I clicked on the nice girl’s profile. And the result is:

Oh, you can also click next and previous to see all her pictures!
So, my only question:
What is the guarantee that the
Administrator(whoever he is) will cater to
protect your personal details and your
pictures from falling in the hands of others??
There is no data protection in that website. And according to the law, it IS AN OFFENSE. I will surely lodge a complain at the ICTA soon to request that the website to made UNAVAILABLE due to infringements of the Data Protection Act..
As a side note, what kind of idiots register on a website(upload their photos) that does not even protect their privacy?
Edit:
From @__Sun__ (twitter:) I won yet another content. :S WTF is this? http://twitpic.com/lhbtx | FACETUBE MAURITIUS SVP!!! #FAIL




14. Oct, 2009 






LOL LOL LOL, ena dimun mank rol dan payes.
Si p fer 1 SE site kifer pa fer 1 bon meme pa al copier lor 1 lot, template laem ayo pa kozer. Admin la surement 1 grand n00b sa.
This site is pure crap!!!
1) the site address is facetube.mu but the site name is facebook Mauritius!
)
==> Should’nt it be facetube Mauritius?
one more thing did they get approval from the original facebook to use the FACEBOOK name?
2) LMAO AND HYPER MEGA LOL:
They installed a theme on joomla and did not find it necessary to change the theme/template logo. (Do they know how to change it?
3) With the look of the site, i think the ‘administrators’ are not good enough to be webmasters. They should instead create a blog!
good job..u need to complain..koz privacyy is important..who the crap didnt bother bout the agreement form..oh..tell them not to copy..lol..even if they do.they cnt make a proPer one..shame.
=]..
lmao…sa site la perfect pou ban galan…kuma ene certain Mr. Tushal ki contan guette ban pic zoli tifi.
To rapel sa conversation dan McDo avan nou alle get Transformers la??
Tushal, there are some sites which are not worth giving them any importance. I believe that its one of them.
During my first and last visit there, I only wanted to see how it looked like. Nothing more.
From the work, it seems that it is basically a kid’s work which consisted in buying a domain, installing joomla, installing a few plugins.
Anyone knows the reason behind this site?
Trying to regroup Mauritians?
Trying to add new functionality through Facebook Connect?
Trying to compete with google? lol
Or planning to release a new application “Mo zardin!”
Cheers zotte tous!
@Yashvin–>wai mais mo ti nek envi geter comment site la protect ban dimoune la so privacy..mais in gro fail sa..at first ti ena facebook.mu mais page lor link la..ti close acoz li pe servi facebook..enfin, facetube 1 gro #fail..en plus de sa..ena 1 ta dimoune in register lor site la ek upload zot tof..Mo demand mwa la question..eski banla kone tou ceki mo in write dan sa post la?o.O..
@Saajid—>Euh..euh..Ki convo?Btw mo bsn cose r twa 1 coup lor msn..nek faire koner quan to online..c pa 1 offense gete jolie fille.:p
Haha. This is a nice one Tushal. Bon first thing I wanna point out is that this site Facetube whatever is simply a STOLEN script on the net (It was previously). Available on all clone scripts site. Just google it. Pena anything extra or coding la dan. Un form 1 or 2 student kav fer sa.
Now after being a complete failure I guess, It is supposedly using Joomla! Well a NON-noob will atleast modify and tweak it but this NOOB he dnt evenknow what is a favicon lollol.
3rd the site design is a SHAME for Mauritius. Its like those copycats made in Nigeria!
And as Yashvin said, some site (Failed Clones)..must be not be looked at and this is one of them. Even your post is giving it a bit of importance well since u already posted pa grave.
@Yashvin: Site la coment dir a kid in fer…mai sadly an adult kin fer sa rofl. A real shame for our websphere really!!
I also wonder kisanla pu kit facebook REAL pu al use FAcetube lol.
Enfin… SEHOH (SEO) , li p lenvi fer imper pitaye en kouyonant des kuyons
When i asked a stupid girl about that site, she found it cool, now i know why i find her stupid
but you forgot to mention that they also have contests! and yeah..! I was the grand winner of that contest! Only thing is that i had 3 days to claimn the prize and the email went into spam.. so when i noticed it..
It expired..!! Guess what i won!
Maybe you could update the post with this :
http://twitter.com/__Sun__/status/4859516668
More over… i’d like to see what the administrator of this site has to say.
Awesome blog!
I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess I‘ll just have to keep checking yours out.
LOL,
ROFL! This is the effect of Mauritius buying the .mu domain
Dear Author http://www.tushal.net !
And indefinitely it is not far
Hi,
You have a Great Blog, I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep it up.
Jenny